The Scandinavian country introduced the hardline measures in a desperate bid to stem the flow of migrants into Europe.

Germany, Austria and Norway, which are also part of the passport-free Schengen zone, also followed suit.

The European Commission has told the four nations to relax the controls, which were imposed in 2015, within six months.

But Denmark’s prime minister today said he would refuse to give into their demands.

Lars Lokke Rasmussen said the amount of migrants and refugees arriving in Europe “is still far too high”.

He added: “We will continue border controls unless the EU miraculously finds ways to regain control of its outer frontiers.”